European Commission launches a public stakeholder consultation on Article 185 Initiatives

European Commission launches a public stakeholder consultation on Article 185 Initiatives

The European Commission (EC) recently opened a public consultation round to collect views of stakeholders on the preparation and implementation of Public-Public Partnerships on the basis of Art.185 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU). The outcomes will be used in the evaluation of H2020, the preparation of the forthcoming Framework Programme and future use of Article 185 as a legal basis of joint programmes between the EU and its Member States.

Article 185 is an instrument that allows the EU to participate as a member in joint programmes between Member States in funding and performing research. An Article 185 initiative can be established in areas where cooperation has reached a high level of integration. It is a far-reaching form of Public-to-Public cooperation and requires -amongst others- that its members set up a dedicated implementation structure that can provide a significant degree of scientific, financial and managerial integration. The EU, as a member, can provide financial support for coordination activities as well as structural top-up funding for research calls.

 Currently five Article 185 initiatives have been set up and this public consultation is also inviting stakeholders to reflect specifically on three of them: BONUS (FP7) that focusses on Baltic Sea research; AAL2 (H2020) with supports research on ICT and ageing, and EUROSTARS2 (H2020) that is dedicated to support research-performing SMEs in their innovative R&D projects. The other two Article 185 initiatives are European Metrology Research Programme (EMRP) and European and Developing Countries Clinical trials Partnership (EDCTP). The Art.185 initiative active in the bioeconomy area is BONUS and the currently being set-up initiative Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area (PRIMA)

The consultation will remain open until 30 April 2017 and can be found here. More information is available on the Commission website

Posted by